كيف نقوم بإعداد وتأهيل طلابنا لينمّوا مرونتهم وعزيمتهم لمواجهة الضغوطات المدرسية والحياتية؟

في الآونة الأخيرة تقدم ابن صديقتي البالغ من العمر 18 عامًا بطلب التحاق بسبع جامعات مختلفة ، وقد تم رفض طلبه من قبلها جميعا ؛ ونتيجة لذلك، اصابته حالة اكتئاب !

 رأيت في عيني صديقتي خيبة أمل، وسمعت في صوتها همسة اعتراف، لا بل هو شعور بالذنب لعدم تربية ابنها ليكون أقوى.  مذنبة لعدم إعداده لمواجهة مصاعب الحياة والنكسات غير المتوقعة.  مذنبة لكونها بالغت في حمايته، مذنبة لعدم إعطائه فرص لارتكاب الأخطاء والتعلم منها، مذنبة لعدم تنمية المرونة والعزيمة لديه. 

لم أستطع التوقف عن التفكير في عذاب صديقتي وأسئلتها . "هل فعلتُ الصواب؟ هل ارتكبتُ خطأ؟ ما الذي فاتني؟ " لقد جعلني ذلك أتساءل عن دوري ليس فقط كوالدة، ولكن كمستشارة تربوية أيضا. كيف نقوم بإعداد طلابنا لينمّوا مرونتهم وعزيمتهم؟

 

How get teams and units to collaborate effectively for a bigger purpose?

 

." سوف يستفيد الطلاب بشكل كبير عندما يتم التطرق إلى المنحى الاجتماعي والعاطفي لديهم أولاً "

يواجه طلاب المدارس الثانوية ضغوطًا يومية لاتخاذ القرارات الصائبة فيما يتعلق بمستقبلهم، مثل اختيار التخصص والتقدم إلى الجامعات وتحديد ما إذا كانوا سيتابعون دراستهم في الخارج أم لا. هذا أمر مرهق حتمًا، ويتطلب منّا تركيز الجهود لتعزيز قدرتهم على المرونة والصمود!

في واقع الأمر، يواجه الطلاب في سن مبكرة تحديات مختلفة على جميع الأصعدة. لقد عملت لأكثر من 20 عامًا في المدارس ولمست تأثير الحالة العاطفي والاجتماعية على مختلف مناحي حياتهم.

هل نحن كأولياء أمور نوظّف طاقاتنا في دعم أطفالنا عاطفيا واجتماعيا؟ هل نحن كتربويين نهتم بمحتوى المواد التعليمية والمهارات الأكاديمية أكثر من اهتمامنا بتطوير مهارات الوعي الذاتي والمرونة والتأقلم والعزيمة لدى الطلاب؟

في الآونة الأخيرة بدأ التركيز بشكل كبير على التعليم الدامج، ومن المتوقع أن تلبّي المدارس في الإمارات العربية المتحدة احتياجات مختلف الطلاب في الفصل الدراسي، و قد تم تقديم دورات تدريبية وورش عمل مختلفة للتربويين، ولكن بالرغم من النوايا الحسنة والجهود العظيمة المبذولة، لا يزال "أصحاب الهمم" من الطلاب يواجهون صعوبة في تلبية المتطلبات المدرسية،  و سوف يستفيد هؤلاء الطلاب بشكل خاص عندما يتم التطرق إلى تنمية شخصيتهم في المجالين الاجتماعي والعاطفي أولا.

 

"يجب أن تكون برامج التعلم الاجتماعية والعاطفية (SEL) جزءًا من مناهج المدارس"

 

 يجب أن تشكِّل برامج التعلم الاجتماعية والعاطفية (SEL) جزءًا من المناهج الدراسية إذ يمكن لهذه البرامج أن تزود الطلاب بفرص تعلم ، وممارسة مهارات أساسية مثل التعاون مع الأقران وفضّ النزاعات ، وتكوين الصداقات والتعامل مع المشاعر والمرونة (دورلاك ، ويزبرغ، ديمنيك، تايلور وشيلنجير 2011)  Durlak، Weissberg، Dymnicki، Taylor، & Schellinger، 2011.

 و قد أُظهرت الأبحاث أيضًا أن سلوك المعلم تجاه الطلاب له تأثير قوي في تعلمهم، و حالتهم الاجتماعية، وقدرتهم على التكيف (Van Uden et al.، 2014).

 و نحن إذ نلقي الضوء على التحديات التي يواجها الطلاب، يجب ألّا نتجاهل الضغط الذي يواجهه المدرسّون يوميًا لتلبية احتياجات الطلاب إذ لا يكفي إكساب الطلاب القدرة على التكيّف والصمود بل يجب على إدارات المدارس أن تتحمل مسؤولية العناية بالمعلمين أيضًا، وتعزيز مرونتهم وصمودهم.

حان الوقت للتغيير

 لقد حان الوقت لإعادة النظر في نهج المدرسة ككل، حيث يلعب كل عضو في المجتمع المدرسي دوراً في تعزيز ثقافة مدرسية داعمة تعزز التعاون والتنوع والمرونة بين الجميع بما في ذلك الطلاب و المعلمين وأولياء الأمور  

 


نبذة عن الكاتبة 

 بصفتها استشارية تعليمية تتمتع بخبرة تزيد عن 20 عامًا في مجال التعليم، تعمل منى بابا مرعي مع عدّة مدارس في الإمارات العربية المتحدة على تطبيق التعليم الدامج، وتقديم النصح إلى مسؤولي دعم التعلم. تستلزم مسؤوليتها العمل عن كثب مع مدرسي اللغة الإنجليزية واللغة العربية لتحسين جودة التعليم بالإضافة إلى تلبية احتياجات الطلاب الخاصة، فهي تقدم دورات تدريبية وورش عمل في موضوعات تعليمية مختلفة مثل التعليم المتمايز، واستراتيجيات فهم القراءة، وصعوبات التعلم، وعسر القراءة، ومهارات التفكير العليا، والموهوبين.

فهي قد حصلت على درجة الماجستير في الآداب في التربية من جامعة لندن، وقد أكملت مؤخرا برنامج تدريب القيادة بنجاح.

 

 

Educational Consultant

Loading...
up
 

Resilience & Co uses cookies to monitor performance of this website and improve user experience in a number of ways. For further details about cookies and how we use them, please refer to our Privacy Notice. By clicking the agree button below you consent to the use of cookies across this website.

تستخدم شركة"ريزيليانس آند كو" Resilience & Co ملفات تعريف الارتباط لرصد أداء هذا الموقع الإلكتروني وتحسين تجربة المستخدم بعدة طرق. لمزيد من التفاصيل حول ملفات تعريف الارتباط وكيف نستخدمها، يرجى الرجوع إلى إشعار الخصوصية الخاص بنا. بالضغط على زر "موافق" أدناه، أنت توافق على استخدام ملفات تعريف الارتباط عبر هذا الموقع الإلكتروني.

HOW ARE WE PREPARING OUR STUDENTS TO BE RESILIENT?

Recently, my friend’s 18 years old son applied for 7 universities and got rejected. As a result, he fell into depression!

I saw in my friend's eyes and heard in her voice the mere whisper of a confession. No, she was pleading guilty! Guilty for not raising her son to be stronger. Guilty for not preparing him for the downhills of life and the unexpected setbacks. Guilty for being over-reactive and overprotective. Guilty for not giving him the chance to make mistakes and to learn from them. Guilty for not instilling in him resilience!

I could not stop thinking about my friend's torments and questions “did I do the right thing? Where did I go wrong? What did I miss?” It made me wonder about my role not only as a parent but also as an educator. How are we preparing our students to be resilient?

 

How get teams and units to collaborate effectively for a bigger purpose?

 

Students will greatly benefit when their social and emotional aspect of development is addressed first.

 

High school students face daily pressure to make the right decisions regarding their future, such as choosing a major, applying to universities, and deciding whether they should pursue their education abroad. This is inevitably stressful, and it is an absolute necessity to foster their resilience!

As a matter of fact, students at all levels and from a very young age face various challenges. I have worked for more than 20 years in schools and I have witnessed how students' emotional and social well-being impact every aspect of their lives.

Are we as parents investing in our children's social emotional well-being?

Are we as educators mostly concerned about teaching subjects' content and academic skills? How much are we teaching our students self- awareness, self- regulation, and coping skills?

Great emphasis has been placed lately on inclusive education. Schools in the UAE are expected now to meet the needs of diverse learners in the classroom. Various intervention programs and strategies have been communicated to educators through trainings and workshops. Despite the great intentions and all the efforts, students with special educational needs are still vulnerable in coping with everyday school demands. They will particularly benefit when their social and emotional aspect of development is addressed first.

 

Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) programs need to be part of the schools‘ curricula.

 

Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) programs need to be part of the schools‘ curricula. These programs can provide students with the opportunities to learn and practice key skills such as cooperation, managing conflict, making friends, coping, recognizing and regulating feelings, and resilience (Durlak, Weissberg, Dymnicki, Taylor, & Schellinger, 2011).

Research also shows that teacher’s interpersonal behavior has a powerful effect on student learning and on their social wellbeing and resilience (Van Uden et al., 2014).

While we address students' challenge, we should never ignore the pressure that teachers face on a daily basis to meet students' needs. Not only we should teach students to be resilient, but school leadership has a responsibility to look after teachers and enhance their resilience as well.

 

Time to Transform

It is about time to consider a whole school approach, where each member of the school community plays a role in promoting a supportive school culture that fosters collaboration, diversity inclusion and resilience among all stakeholders’ including students, teachers and parents.

 


About the Author

As an educational consultant with more than 20 years’ experience in education, Mona Baba Merii works with schools in the UAE to implement inclusive education and advises learning support staff. Her responsibilities entail working closely with English and Arabic teachers to improve the quality of teaching and learning as well as meeting the needs of diverse learners.

She provides trainings and workshops in various educational topics such as differentiated instruction, reading comprehension strategies, learning difficulties, dyslexia, higher order thinking skills, and gifted and talented.

Mona holds a Master of Arts in Education degree from the University of London, Institute of Education and recently has successfully completed the TPC Leadership Coaching Program.

Educational Consultant

Loading...
up
 

Resilience & Co uses cookies to monitor performance of this website and improve user experience in a number of ways. For further details about cookies and how we use them, please refer to our Privacy Notice. By clicking the agree button below you consent to the use of cookies across this website.

تستخدم شركة"ريزيليانس آند كو" Resilience & Co ملفات تعريف الارتباط لرصد أداء هذا الموقع الإلكتروني وتحسين تجربة المستخدم بعدة طرق. لمزيد من التفاصيل حول ملفات تعريف الارتباط وكيف نستخدمها، يرجى الرجوع إلى إشعار الخصوصية الخاص بنا. بالضغط على زر "موافق" أدناه، أنت توافق على استخدام ملفات تعريف الارتباط عبر هذا الموقع الإلكتروني.